SA Ag Town of The Year Nominations Open

May 9, 2023 2:07 pm in by

SA Ag Town Solstice Media min

The fifth edition of the South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year is officially underway, with nominations now open. 

Locals can now put forth their town to be in the running to win the prestigious award, which was taken out by Mypolonga last year. 

The Murraylands town has only just had the opportunity to celebrate their win, with floodwaters affecting the region shortly after they were crowned last November. 

Article continues after this ad

More than 130 people took part in official festivities on Sunday at the Mypolonga Combined Sports Club. 

The award aims to recognise South Australian towns that excel in agricultural practices and the flow-on effect on their surrounding communities, while embracing their farming culture and displaying the foresight, resilience and spirit unique to the rural and regional communities.

Previous winners include Cleve in 2019, Pinnaroo in 2020 and Kimba in 2021.

Regional Development and Primary Industries Minister Claire Scriven says Mypolonga thoroughly deserved the title. 

“From being a predominantly citrus, stone fruit and milk producing region, last year’s winner, Mypolonga, is now a thriving and diverse agricultural food bowl, growing a vast range of crops and breeding a wide range of livestock,” Ms Scriven says.

Article continues after this ad

“We strongly believe it’s important to recognise the great resilience, creativity and strength of our regional towns and the award creates a perfect opportunity to do that.”

Nominations can be made at until they close on 5 June.

Image Credit: Solstice Media