Stidiford Stars To Claim 2023 RMFL Mail Medal

September 19, 2023 3:52 pm in by
Photo Credit: River Murray Football League

A return to regional footy has been a triumphant one for Coorong Cats’ Alex Stidiford, after he was crowned the 2023 Mail Medalist in the River Murray Football League last night. 

After three seasons in the Adelaide Footy League, Stidiford proved dominant across the back half of the River Murray season, with the former Borderdowns Tinitinara star polling 24 votes ahead Southern Mallee’s Josh Smithson on 16 and Imperials’ Jack Penfold on 15.

Louis DeMichele (Imperials) and Thomas Keough (Southern Mallee) rounded out the top five with 14 votes apiece.

Article continues after this ad

Other A grade awards saw Suns’ star Rory O’Driscoll claim the Daish Irrigation and Fodder Player of the Year, while Jervois’ Lachlan Thomas was named best Under 21’s player.

Other results from the evening saw Tailem Bend’s Jarryd Linde take out the Lokan medal for best in the reserves, while the Lyndall Parker Club of the Year went to Imperial.