Local News

Mayo & Barker Election Candidates So Far

20150326 15088 APH 0041 cropped small

With the date of the Federal Election set for 18 May, 2019, more candidates have been announced for the federal seat of Barker and Mayo.

In Barker, Murray Bridge based Councillor Karen Eckerman has put her hand up to run for the Animal Justice Party.

Miles Hanne-mann, a Councillor with the Tatiara District Council has been endorsed as the SA Nationals candidate. He ran for the federal seat in 2013.

They join Kelly Gladiagu from Centre Alliance, Rupert Bacher from the United Australia Party, Rosa Hillam from the Greens and current Member and Liberal candidate Tony Pasin MP.

As of this week, ALP are still to announce their Barker candidate.

The seat of Mayo, currently held by the Centre Alliance’s Rebekha Sharkie, the Greens have announced their candidate, Anne Borune, a Goolwa psychologist and environmental activist.

Labor has picked 23-year-old Saskia Gerhardy, an environmental campaigner and Liberal candidate Georgina Downer, daughter of Alexander Downer, is again contesting the seat after losing to Ms Sharkie in the 2018 by-election.

The Australian Electoral Commission has urged eligible voters who have not yet registered to do so by Thursday 18 April 2019 as voting is compulsory. 17-year-olds who will come of age by the 18 May will be eligible.